Summary: The information on this page has been designed to help anyone interested in obtaining their Mississippi real estate license or anyone considering becoming a real estate agent or Realtor in Mississippi. Below you will find details on current licensing requirements, fees, exam information, license reciprocity details and more. If you have any questions pertaining to the information below, we are happy to help.[half]
- Licensing Requirements
All of the state requirements needed to get your real estate license.
- Exam Information
Information on scheduling and taking your real estate exam.
- License Reciprocity
Current reciprocal licensing policies for the state for out-of-state residents.
- Forms and Applications
License applications, important forms and more to help get the licensing process started.
Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements
The Mississippi Real Estate Commission has set forth a series of requirements and guidelines that must be met by new applicants. These are designed to ensure that all Mississippi real estate license candidates have the necessary education and knowledge to perform the roles of a real estate agent while doing so according to Minnesota State laws and regulations. Below you will find the current licensing requirements for all salesperson applicants.
All salesperson applicants must:
- Be a resident of the State of Minnesota when submitting your application.
- Be at least 18 years of age at the time of applying for a salesperson license.
- Complete 60 hours of real estate courses through a Mississippi approved pre-license education provider.
- Submit a completed application with a copy of your education transcripts.
- Pass both the Mississippi State-specific and National portions of the real estate exam upon approval from the state to sit for the exam.
There will be an application fee of $110, this is required from all salesperson applicants.[doubleline]
Mississippi Real Estate Exam Information
The Mississippi real estate exam is currently administered by PSI Exams. Applicants will only be allowed to sit for the exam twice within two months, following approval of your application. Should you fail to pass either portion of the exam within that two month time period you will be required to reapply for a license with the Minnesota Real Estate Commission.
The exam is made up of two parts. The National portion of the exam consists of 80 questions in which you will be given 2.5 hours to complete and must score at least 56 questions (70%) correct. The Mississippi State-specific portion of the exam consists of an additional 40 questions, you will be given an additional 1.5 hours to complete this portion and must answer 30 questions (75%) correctly.
There is an examination fee of $75. Retaking one or both parts of the exam will cost an additional $75.[doubleline]
Mississippi License Reciprocity Information
Those applicants the currently hold an active real estate license in another state may qualify for a license by reciprocity, if your state has an active reciprocity agreement with the State of Mississippi.
If your current licensing state has a “license-for-license” agreement, you may be able to receive a waiver for the Mississippi examination, assuming your current license is in active status. The Real Estate Commission does not publicly announce which states have active reciprocity agreements so you will need to contact the MREC to ask about your state.[doubleline]
Mississippi Licensing Forms and Applications
The forms and applications below have been provided for your convenience. If you have questions or unable to locate a specific form please don’t hesitate to contact us.
All of the above Mississippi real estate license information was current and accurate at the time of publishing. The License Butler staff work diligently to keep this information up-to-date, however, this information does change from time to time. If you notice any discrepancies please let us know so that we may make changes as soon as possible.[/stylebox2]